NC Music Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

Photo Source: North Carolina Music Hall of Fame.
Photo Source: North Carolina Music Hall of Fame.

Released by Released by Eddie Ray (Operations Director/Vice Chair) and Bill Kopald (Chairman)

The North Carolina Music Hall of Fame has announced this year’s eight inductees:

  • The Avett Brothers – folk rock/bluegrass/Americana, from Concord NC.
  • Band of Oz – popular pioneer Beach music band, from Raleigh NC.
  • Chuck Brown (deceased) – funk guitarist known as the “Godfather of Go-go,” from Gaston NC.
  • The Carolina Chocolate Drops – Grammy award winning old time string band, from Durham NC.
  • Percy Heath (deceased) – jazz musician/bassist and member of the Modern Jazz Quartet, born in Wilmington NC.
  • David Holt – Grammy Award winning folk musician & story teller who appears regularly on PBS television, from Asheville NC.
  • Kellie Pickler – country vocalist and American Idol contestant, born in Albemarle NC.
  • Ron Tyson – longtime member of the Temptations, from Monroe NC.

The Induction Ceremony will take place on October 20, 2016, in Kannapolis NC.

This red carpet event is open to the public. VIP and General Admission tickets will go on sale early this summer. Tickets will be available online and at the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame Museum, 600 Dale Earnhardt Blvd., Kannapolis NC.

Contact the NC Music Hall of Fame Museum for more details at 704.934.2320 or visit

TGA Banner Ad
About Kay Whatley 2309 Articles
Kay Whatley serves as Editor and Reporter with The Grey Area News. Kay is a published author with over 20 years of experience in the publishing industry. Kay Whatley is wife to Frank Whatley, founder of The Grey Area™ newspaper and The Grey Area News online news website.